Farce of the Penguins

I’ve just finished watching the trailer to Farce of the Penguins and I would have to say I’m fairly disappointed so far. When I first heard they were making this mockumentary, I was generally interested. A movie trailer is supposed to highlight why you should see the movie. Farce’s trailer is giving me the idea that the whole thing is going to be voice-overs of bad, crude, sexually implicit jokes, one after another. Not that I don’t mind a crude joke now and again, but a whole movie? The cast list is astounding though. So many names in there that everyone will recognize. Samuel L. Jackson’s voice parodies Morgan Freeman’s narration from March of the Penguins. Hopefully this film won’t affect their careers much.

I’m appalled at the DVD cover for Farce as it boasts at the top, “In the tradition of Airplane!, Naked Gun, and Scary Movie.” Are you serious? How can constant sexual innuendo and anatomical humor compare to great Zucker films like Airplane! and The Naked Gun? Those movies had real humor including but not limited to puns, subtlety, and class.

Usually I am all for a movie about penguins but it may be going too far to say that I would actually watch the whole thing. Plus with its R rating, children shouldn’t watch it. I think a more noble approach would to done it in a more Mystery Science Theater 3000 kind of way with only a handful of voice actors. Of course, that would have just been a March of the Penguins redux with funny commentary. You can watch the trailer below but heed my warning. Bad language is abound and children should not view it.

3 Comments

Filed under Animals, Movies, Penguin, Video

3 responses to “Farce of the Penguins

  1. OMG!

    If that trailer is anything to go by the movie is going to be terrible.

    I expect the whole movie will be smutty jokes, and sexual innuendo. Bob Saget is directing it, and lets face it, dirty old men don’t get much dirtier than him.

  2. I whole-heartedly agree. The real Bob Saget is far from Danny Tanner. Honestly, I was expecting a lot more. This seems to be just a cheap buck at the expense of these penguins. For shame.

  3. yeah, bob saget is really really really sick. he makes up crude jokes all of the time
    . he also puts up his middle fanger in almost every pic he’s in. i liked him on 1 vs 100 and full house. now he’s just plain wrong! f*ck you bob saget, go back to great man you were 20 years ago! plz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! now you suck!

Leave a Reply

