Your Personal Penguin

Tonight I picked up Your Personal Penguin by Sandra Boynton. After reading about this book and hearing the song at Workman Publishing’s web site, I just knew I had to get this book. The story is more like a short song where this little penguin wants to befriend this hippopotamus, telling it of all of the things they’d do together. It’s very a cute story and the very last page will make you go, “Aww…” Below I have linked the song that goes with the book which is sung by Davy Jones of The Monkees. After the cut, there’s a behind-the-scenes video of Davy singing the song. Totally amazing. Davy Jones was a perfect fit for this song. I absolutely recommend this book for any small child. My daughter has requested that I read/sing this to her every night.

The song can be downloaded from Workman Publishing’s site in mp3 format.

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Music, Penguin, Video

3 responses to “Your Personal Penguin

  1. I enjoyed the video and the song. The song reminded me of “Daydream Beleiver” by The Monkees. Davy Jones seems older than I remember him but he’s apparently aged well.

    I’ll have to read it sometime.

  2. Pingback: Got my I-CY « Penguin Geek

  3. stokely

    haha i think i saw that video
    and guess what
    it made me order that penguin off of amazon.com
    i hate you haha jk

Leave a comment